A sales associate is a person who, for another, and for compensation or in anticipation of compensation, appraises, auctions, sells, exchanges, buys, rents or offers, attempts or agrees to appraise, auction, or negotiate any sale, exchange, purchase, or rental of business enterprises or any real property or any interest in or concerning the same or who advertises the same, but who performs such act under the direction, control, or management of a broker or owner/developer.
Sales Associate License Requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must have a United States Social Security number to apply. Visit the Social Security Administration website for information on how to obtain one
- Have high school diploma or GED its equivilent
- Complete and pass the state approved 63 hour Sales Associate pre-license course (Click Here to View our Scheduled Courses) Note: needs hyperlink
- Pass the state exam – The examination is given by Pearson Vue.
To locate a testing center near you and set up your exam click here
- Submit application to the Division of Real Estate via online or mail
- Online application – click here and create an online profile on DBPR Profile
- Mail application – Download and print the application click here
- The fee is $89.00 – May be paid online, personal check or money order
- Electronic Fingerprints – Applicant must have a background check as part of the licensing process. See below:
Electronic Finger Prints
- Offered in class at your convenience or…
- Electronic finger prints are processed through the state testing center, Pearson Vue
- To locate a testing center near you click here
- An appointment must be made online or by calling 877-238-8232
- Submit fee of $61.00
On average it will take 3 – 4 weeks for your application to be processed and approved.
Check the status of your application online click here.
Does your real estate license expire soon?
All Florida real estate licenses expire on either 3/31 or 9/30 every two years. After your initial post-licensing requirement, you must complete 14 hours of Continuing Education as it is required by the state.
For licenses that expire on or after September 30, 2018
14 CE Hours Consisting of
- 3 hours of law
- 3 hours of ethics (new)
- 8 specialty hours
If you completed the Code of Ethics course prior to March 31, 2018, it does NOT fulfill the Florida State (DBPR) requirement.
If you complete the NAR Code Ethics course on the NAR website it will NOT fulfill the Florida State (DBPR) requirements.
In addition, if you completed the 14-hour renewal course through us and your license expires on 09/30/18, you may still be required to complete the Ethics & Business Practices course. Your account in DBPR will show whether or not you have a “shortfall” for your Ethics requirements.
Please check the status of your license at myfloridalicense.com
We are offering the new Ethics and Professional Business Practices course at our locations. Please check the online Education calendar on our website, www.miamirealtors.com/education or call our MIAMI Professionals at 305-468-7066.
Don’t delay – beat the rush! We are here to help you!
Florida has mutual recognition with 8 states:
- Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state from which the applicant is applying.
Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value each. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass
- 3 Hour Florida Core Law
- 14 Hour Real Estate Continuing Education
- 45 Hour Real Estate Post License Course
- 60 Hour Broker Post
- State CRAM Exam Review for FREC II Broker Students
- 72 Hour FREC II Broker Course
- 63-Hour Pre License Online Course – FREC-1 | CE Shop
- Foundations For Success
- Renew Real Estate License
- Sales Associate License Requirements
- About South Florida Real Estate School
IN-Person (A) Exclusive Right of Sale Listing Agreement 3hr CEJune 6 @ 9:30 am - 12:30 pm
Aventura, FL 33180 United States + Google Map
Instructor: Richard H. Burch, CRB, CRS, GRI, TRC, e-PRO, AHWD Exclusive Right of Sale Listing Agreement -3CE I...Find out more »
Zoom: FREC II Broker Pre-License CourseJune 12 @ 9:00 am - June 23 @ 6:00 pm
***This class is not FREE, Cost $279 for Members/ $349 for Non-Members Required Book is not included You ...Find out more »
Zoom: FREC II Broker Pre-License Course – SpanishJune 20 @ 9:00 am - June 29 @ 6:00 pm
Instructor: German Urego Presented in Spanish, Class will be held via Zoom. Camera Must Be ON!! 20 de Jun...Find out more »