South Florida Real Estate School

                

                

                

Renew Real Estate License

Requirements to renew your license for the first time:

  • A sales associate must complete the 45-hour post-licensing course, within the initial renewal period, prior to the expiration date.
    • Failure to complete post-licensing education or pay the renewal fee prior to the initial expiration date will result in the license becoming null and void.  After a license becomes null and void you will be required to re-apply for a license and retake the required pre-licensing education again if you would like to be re-licensed.
    • A broker must complete the 60-hour post-licensing course, within the initial renewal period, prior to the expiration date. 

Requirements to renew your license after the first renewal:

  • A sales associate is required to complete 14 hours of continuing education every two years prior to renewing the license as long as it is not the first renewal. (Post licensing education must be done in order to renew in the first renewal cycle.)
    • Failure to complete the 14hrs CE will cause the license to become involuntary inactive. They will have to complete the continuing education and pay the fees to renew. The department allows up to 12 months after the expiration date to complete the 14 hours continuing education and pay the renewal fee, which will include a late fee of $45.00. You may not operate while your license is involuntary inactive.
    • If a license go's delinquent for more than 12 months, but less than 24 months, the 28 hour reactivation education course is required as well as all renewal fees before the end of their 2nd renewal cycle. Failure to do so will result in the license expiring and going null and void. See Section 475.183, Florida Statutes for exact wording.
    • A broker is required to complete 14 hours of continuing education every two years prior to renewing the license as long as it is not the first renewal. (Post licensing education must be done in order to renew in the first renewal cycle.)
      • Failure to complete the 14hrs CE will cause the license to become involuntary inactive. The licensee can not renew the license if they have not done the required continuing education. The department allows up to 12 months after the expiration date to complete the 14 hours continuing education and pay the renewal fee, which will include a late fee of $45. You may not operate while your license is inactive.
      • If a broker allows the license to remain involuntary inactive for more than 12 months, but less than 24 months, a 28 hour reactivation education course is required as well as all renewal and late fees before the end of their second renewal cycle. Failure to do so will result in the license going to null and void.

 

All renewals are made up of two components, education and fees. Both of these components must be complete before a license can be renewed.

In order to meet the required for 14 hour of continuing education you must complete 11 hours specialty hours and 3 hour Core Law.